Richard Duquette
Newsletter

ACES - industry standard for managing color
10929
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-10929,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,boxed,qode-theme-ver-3.8,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7,vc_responsive
 

ACES

  |   Art et technique

ACES | Academy Color Encoding System

Since the arrival of digital cameras and the proliferation of formats, encoding type and a whole range of more or less high-quality equipment, film professionals are faced with a major problem: the constancy in the colors.

For over 10 years, “the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences” devoted considerable resources to the development of a solution: ACES.

ACES 1.0 (January 2015), is a proven method to standardize the calibration process and improvement of color, “the look of the film.”

Why encourage the use of ACES in the workplace? First reason: saving time and money, but also the safety of mind regarding archiving, data optimization (various types of cameras), consistency among stakeholders in post phase -production and finally, a simple but effective method to ensure that the products will be visually identical in any cinemas (DCI-P3), television (REC.709) and electronics (sRBG): a standardization the signal on different platforms.

For the rest? ACES is designed to continue to evolve over time and take into account the improvement of the cameras and the decoding algorithms of the video signal. ACES also recreates the master copies of the current ACES productions with future update RRT (Reference Rendering Transform) to conform to new media types, such as televisions and spaces 4K colors like REC. 2020.

To understand why ACES effectively controls whether the color management in a brief explanation, only the central section or, color correction, is left to the colorist. The rest is managed by the ACES standard and does not allow human interaction, which reduces errors.

Who should use ACES

  • Director of photography
  • colorist
  • Post-production company
  • VFX company
  • archivist

Are the producer should insist that their production should be subject to the ACES standards … Yes definitely!

What are the costs associated with the ACES update
When several post-production companies must work together on the same project, the adaptation time is quickly offset by improved operations and peace of mind. A profitable investment.

  • Input Device Transform (IDT)

  • Academy Color Encoding Specification (ACES)

  • Reference Rendering Transform (RRT)

  • Output Device Transform (ODT)

Ressources externes

WHAT IS ACES?

The Academy Color Encoding System (ACES) is becoming the industry standard for managing color throughout the life cycle of a motion picture or television production. From image capture through editing, VFX, mastering, public presentation, archiving and future remastering, ACES ensures a consistent color experience that preserves the filmmaker’s creative vision. In addition to the creative benefits, ACES addresses and solves a number of significant production, post-production and archiving problems that have arisen with the increasing variety of digital cameras and formats in use, as well as the surge in the number of productions that rely on worldwide collaboration using shared digital image files.

ACES is a free, open, device-independent color management and image interchange system that can be applied to almost any current or future workflow. It was developed by hundreds of the industry’s top scientists, engineers and end users, working together under the auspices of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

ACES 1.0 is the first production-ready release of the system, the result of over 10 years of research, testing and field trials. It includes support for a wide variety of digital and film-based production workflows, visual effects, animation and archiving.

WHAT PROBLEMS DOES ACES 1.0 SOLVE?

Today’s motion pictures and television shows are complex collaborative efforts, involving many separate companies using digital image capture, image creation and editorial workflows that are much more difficult to integrate than film-based workflows.

On a typical production there might be three or four different digital cameras as well as a film camera in use, all recording to different devices and media using different data formats. During post-production, especially on major motion pictures, multiple facilities may be engaged for editing, visual effects, mastering and other work. Digital image files arrive at these facilities in any of a dozen (or more!) formats and color encoding schemes, often without essential metadata. At the end of the process, studio deliverables could range from large-screen film prints to mobile device encodings.

All along the way, the integration challenges increase  – and on the horizon there are undoubtedly emerging technologies and new all-digital distribution platforms that will add complexities of their own.

ACES 1.0 solves numerous integration challenges by enabling consistent, high-quality color management from production to distribution.  It provides digital image encoding and other specifications that preserve the latitude and color range of the original imagery, allowing the highest-quality images possible from the cameras and processes used. Equally important, ACES 1.0 establishes a common standard so deliverables can be efficiently and predictably created and preserved. ACES 1.0 enables filmmakers to manage the look of a production today and into the future.

WHAT ARE THE BENEFITS OF ACES 1.0 FOR SPECIFIC USERS?

Virtually everyone involved in production, post-production and archiving can enjoy ACES benefits.

For cinematographers, colorists and digital imaging technicians, ACES 1.0 preserves creative intent from on-set capture to presentation by:

  • Eliminating uncertainty between on-set look management and downstream color correction through standardized viewing transforms and equipment calibration methods
  • Preserving the full range of highlights, shadows and colors captured on set for use throughout post-production and mastering
  • Simplifying the matching of images from different cameras
  • Providing a means to repurpose source materials when creating alternate deliverables

For visual effects and other post-production facilities, ACES 1.0 streamlines digital workflows by:

  • Simplifying the interchange of unfinished motion picture imagery
  • Providing a standard color management architecture that can be shared by hardware and software vendors
  • Eliminating uncertainty associated with undocumented or poorly documented file formats and color encodings
  • Establishing standards for metadata

For producers and studios, ACES 1.0 reduces production costs and enables future-proofed archiving by:

  • Providing a free, open source color and look management architecture that can be shared by vendors whose hardware and software products are used on set and in post-production
  • Ensuring digital assets can be repurposed to take advantage of future high-dynamic-range, wide-color-gamut display devices
  • Ensuring the archive contains the highest fidelity digital source master possible, representing the digital equivalent of the “finished negative”

Richard Duquette
Newsletter

ACES | Richard Duquette - Directeur Photo |
10685
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-10685,single-format-standard,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,boxed,qode-theme-ver-3.8,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.7,vc_responsive
 

ACES

  |   Art et technique

ACES | Academy Color Encoding System

Depuis l’arrivée des caméras numériques ainsi que la prolifération des formats, type d’encodage ainsi que toute une panoplie d’équipement de plus ou moins grande qualité, les professionnels du cinéma sont confronté à un problème majeur : la constance dans les couleurs.

Depuis plus de 10 ans  » l’Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences » a consacré beaucoup de ressources au développement d’une solution:  ACES.

ACES 1.0 (janvier 2015), est une méthode éprouvée pour uniformiser le processus d’étalonnage ainsi que d’amélioration des couleurs, « le look du film ».

Pourquoi  favoriser l’utilisation de ACES en milieu professionnel ?  Première raison: l’économie de temps et d’argent, mais aussi, la sécurité d’esprit en ce qui concerne l’archivage, l’optimisation des données (divers types de caméras), la constance entre les intervenants en phase de post-production et finalement, une méthode simple mais efficace, pour s’assurer que les produits seront visuellement identiques dans n’importe quelles salles de cinéma (DCI-P3), télévision (REC. 709) et appareils électroniques (sRBG): Une standardisation du signal sur les différentes plateformes.

Pour la suite?  ACES est conçu pour continuer à évoluer dans le temps et prendre en compte l’amélioration des caméras ainsi que les algorithmes de décodage du signal vidéo.   ACES permet aussi de recréer des copies master des productions ACES actuelles, grâce à de futures mise à jour du RRT (Reference Rendering Transform) pour le conformer aux nouveaux types de supports, tel que les télévisions 4K ainsi que les espaces couleurs comme le REC. 2020.

Pour bien comprendre pourquoi ACES permet de contrôler si efficacement la gestion de la couleur en une explication sommaire, seule la section centrale, soit, la correction de couleur, est laissée au choix du coloriste. Le reste est géré par le standard ACES et ne permet pas d’interaction humaine, ce qui limite les erreurs.

Qui devrait utiliser ACES

  • Directeur photo
  • Coloriste
  • Entreprise de post-production
  • Entreprise de VFX
  • Archiviste

Est-ce qu’un producteur devrait insister pour que ses productions soient soumises aux normes ACES… Oui définitivement!

Est-ce que des frais sont associés à la mise à jour ACES ?

Lorsque plusieurs entreprises de post-production doivent travailler ensemble sur un même projet, le temps d’adaptation est rapidement compensé par une amélioration des opérations et une paix d’esprit. Un investissement rentable.

  • Input Device Transform (IDT)

  • Academy Color Encoding Specification (ACES)

  • Reference Rendering Transform (RRT)

  • Output Device Transform (ODT)

QU’EST-CE QUE ACES?

Le Academy Color Encoding System (ACES) est en train de devenir la norme pour la gestion des couleurs tout au long du cycle de vie d’une production cinématographique ou télévisuelle. De la capture d’image au présentation publique en passant par le  montage, les VFX, le mastering, , l’archivage et la remasterisation à venir ACES assure une constance de couleur ainsi que la préservation de la vision créative du cinéaste. En plus des avantages créatifs, ACES adresses et résout un certain nombre de problèmes qui ont surgi au niveau de la production, post-production et d’archivage, dû  à la diversité croissante des caméras et des formats numériques, ainsi que l’augmentation du nombre de productions qui requiert un partage des images entre diverses entreprises de postproduction à travers le monde grace à la facilité de partager les fichiers.

ACES est un système d’échange open source pour la gestion des couleurs, qui est indépendant de l’appareil et de l’image et qui peut être appliqué à presque tous les processus de travail actuelle ou futur. Il a été développé par des centaines de scientifiques de haut niveau, des ingénieurs et des professionnels de l’industrie cinématographique, qui ont travaillé ensemble sous la supervision de l’Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

ACES 1.0 est la première version prête pour la production, elle est le résultat de plus de 10 années de recherche, de tests et d’essais en situation réelle. Elle inclut le support pour une grande variété de processus de production numériques et argentiques, d’effets spéciaux, d’animation et d’archivage.

QUELS SONT LES AVANTAGES DE ACES 1.0

Presque tous les intervenants en production, post-production et l’archivage peuvent profiter des avantages de ACES.

Pour les cinéastes, coloristes et les techniciens en imagerie digitale, ACES 1.0 préserve le travail de création lors de la prise de vue jusqu’à la diffusion en:

  • Éliminant la différence visuel entre la vision du directeur photo et le travail du coloriste causé par la calibration des divers équipement en standardisant les méthodes de d’ajustement de l’équipement
  • Préservant l’amplitude de la lumières, des ombres et des couleurs capturées sur le plateau pour une utilisation tout au long de la post-production et le mastering
  • Simplifiant l’ajustement des images prisent par différentes caméras
  • Fournissant un moyen simple de conformer les images RAW lors de la création des divers livrables que ce soit pour le web, cinéma ou télévision

Pour les effets visuels et divers étapes de post-production, ACES 1.0 standardise  les étapes de modification numériques en:

  • Simplifier l’échange des images en phase de post-production
  • Fournissant une standardisation de la gestion couleur les fournisseurs de matériel et de logiciels
  • Éliminant l’incertitude associée avec les formats de fichiers  mal documentées et les codages couleurs non standardisé
  • Établissant des normes pour les métadonnées

Pour les producteurs et les studios, ACES 1.0 réduit les coûts de production et permet l’archivage durable en:

  • Fournissant gratuitement en standards open source, pour la gestion des couleurs et des styles et offre une architecture de gestion qui peut être partagée par les fournisseurs de matériels et de logiciels utilisés sur le plateau et en post-production.
  • Assurer que les données numériques peuvent être réutilisé pour profiter de futures avancés technologiques des dispositifs d’affichage à large gamut couleur et à luminosité améliorée.
  • Assurer que l’archivage contient un master numérique de très haute qualité, représentant l’équivalent numérique du « fini négatif du film »